Booking.com
Rate our Reviews

School of Fine Arts: Lima, Peru…..At the beginning of the 19th century, under the rule of  Viceroy Don José de Abascal (1806-1816), the free education Drawing and Painting Academy was created. The academy worked within the National Library and thus continued even after the Independence of Peru although with some losses.  Their classrooms are full of  medical students and artists. 

Due to the limited support for artistic education, the Municipal School was founded in 1860, which later became the Society of Fine Arts.  In 1872 the creation of a History Museum was promoted. This objective was consolidated between 1893 and 1912.  However, it was not until after the Pacific War (1879 – 1881) and through a strong journalistic campaign led by Teófilo Castillo Guas (peruvian painter, art critic and photographer) that promotion and creation of a school sponsored by the government, for national culture and identity was created. 

The School is founded on September 28, 1918 and, after the restoration of the house where it is currently located, it began functions in April 1919.  It is precisely this beautiful house that deserves all the attention because it is a work of art that has defied time for many centuries. 

Located on the Jr. Ancash corner with Jr. Andahuaylas, this mansion was, in the 16th century, a clergy hospital attached to a church of the “Cátedra de San Pedro” brotherhood. It’s purpose was to care for sick, poor clerics.  The church was large with a single vault, of five-piece wooden armor, built by the carpenter Bartolomé Calderón in 1629. It was replaced by a barrel vault, also made of wood, as a result of  earthquakes that ravaged Lima. 

In the twentieth century, the church was transformed into an auditorium of the school although you can still see the perimeter, the buttresses of the old main chapel, the baroque side cover and the base of the corner tower.  Also, the garden retains its original fountain. 

In 1776, the building of the old hospital is reused to house the beguinage of “Amparadas”, It was a refuge for women who lead the “licentious life”; at the same time it was an Indian school and a hospice.  In the 19th century it was the seat of the Maternity of Lima. 

 

When in 1919 the house was awarded to the School of Fine Arts, it was subjected to restoration for 5 months, building the second level of the main courtyard and transforming the old church into an auditorium.  Soon an earthquake ensued and in the new restoration changed its appearance, with a new entrance door.

 

 

 

The current facade of the School is Neoperuano style, designed by the Spanish sculptor and architect Manuel Piqueras, highlights the Inca mysticism combined with the charm of the Spanish baroque. 

But the vicissitudes of the house did not end.  In 1972, during the dictatorship of Gnral. Velasco Alvarado, the School of Fine Arts lost its autonomy. It ended up depending on the National Institute of Culture. Then the bureaucracy, the lack of interest on the part of the Commission in charge and the shortage of students led to deterioration of the house, to the point that it was thought to demolish it. 

At the end of the 90’s it regained its autonomy and the school underwent several educational reorganizations. In 2008 it obtained  university ranking. The existence of the house was saved. 

The house can be visited on Saturday for tourist purposes, and inside can be seen, as in a large exhibition, the work done by students during these 100 years of educational life.  Perhaps because of its clerical past it is that, within, one has the feeling of being in a convent, there is stillness, tranquility … perhaps it stimulates the sensitivity and creativity of the students? … it is peaceful. 

 

Lima, Perú:  ESCUELA DE BELLAS ARTES, una obra arquitectónica de varias centurias 

A principios del siglo XIX, siendo Virrey don José de Abascal (1806-1816), se creó la Academia de Dibujo y Pintura de educación gratuita, la cual funcionaba dentro de la Biblioteca Nacional y así continuó incluso después de la Independencia del Perú aunque con privaciones.  Sus aulas eran frecuentadas por estudiantes de medicina y artistas. 

Debido al escaso apoyo a la educación artística, en 1860 se funda la Escuela Municipal, la que después se convertiría en la Sociedad de Bellas Artes; en 1872 se promueve la creación de un Museo de Historia, objetivo que se consolida entre 1893 a 1912.  Sin embargo, no fue hasta después de la Guerra del Pacífico (1879 – 1881) y mediante una fuerte campaña periodística encabezada por Teófilo Castillo Guas (pintor, crítico de arte y fotógrafo peruano) que se promueve la creación de una escuela patrocinada por el gobierno, en favor de la cultura e identidad nacional. 

La Escuela se funda el 28 de setiembre de 1918 y, luego de los trámites de adjudicación y restauración de la casona en donde se ubica actualmente, inicia funciones en abril de 1919.  Y es precisamente esta bella casona la que merece toda la atención por ser en sí misma una obra de arte que ha desafiado al tiempo durante muchas centurias. 

Ubicada en el Jr. Ancash esquina con Jr. Andahuaylas, esta casona fue, en el siglo XVI, un hospital de clérigos anexo a una iglesia de la cofradía “Cátedra de San Pedro”, con el propósito de dar atención a los clérigos enfermos y de escasos recursos.  La iglesia era grande con una sola bóveda con armadura de madera de cinco paños, construida por el carpintero Bartolomé Calderón en 1629, y que fuera reemplazada por una bóveda de cañón, también de madera, como consecuencia de los terremotos que asolaron Lima 

La cobertura subsistió hasta el siglo XX, cuando la iglesia se transformó en auditorio de la escuela aunque aún se pueden apreciar los perimétricos, los contrafuertes de la antigua capilla mayor, la portada lateral barroca y la base de la torre de la esquina.  Asimismo, la huerta conserva su fuente original. 

En 1776, el edificio del antiguo hospital es reutilizado para albergar al beaterio de Amparadas, un refugio para mujeres arrepentidas de la “vida licenciosa”; al mismo tiempo fue escuela de indias y un hospicio.  En el siglo XIX fue sede de la Maternidad de Lima. 

Cuando en 1919 la casona fue adjudicada a la Escuela de Bellas Artes, fue sometida a restauración durante 5 meses, construyéndose el segundo nivel del patio principal y transformando la antigua iglesia en un auditorio.  Al poco tiempo sobreviene un sismo y en la nueva restauración la casona cambia su fisonomía, con una nueva puerta de ingreso. 

La actual fachada de la Escuela es de estilo Neoperuano, diseñada por el escultor y arquitecto español Manuel Piqueras, resalta el misticismo inca combinado con el encanto del barroco español. 

Pero las vicisitudes de la casona no terminaban.  En 1972, durante la dictadura del Gral. Velasco Alvarado, la Escuela de Bellas Artes pierde su autonomía pasando a depender del Instituto Nacional de Cultura, la burocracia, la falta de interés por parte de la Comisión encargada y la escasez de alumnos llevaron al deterioro de la casona, a tal punto que se pensó en demolerla. 

A finales de los 90’s y recuperada su autonomía, la escuela experimentó varias reorganizaciones educativas y en el 2008 obtiene el rango universitario.  La existencia de la casona estaba salvada. 

La casona puede ser visitada los días sábado con fines turísticos, y al interior puede verse, como en una gran exposición, los trabajos efectuados por los estudiantes en el transcurso de estos 100 años de vida educativa.  Quizá por sus antecedentes clericales es que, a su interior, uno tiene la sensación de estar en un convento, hay quietud, sosiego … quizá ello estimule la sensibilidad y creatividad de los estudiantes? … puede ser…